

## **Board of Directors Annual Meeting**

June16, 2023 at 8:00am Holiday Inn East Hartford, CT

**Attendees:** Todd Andrews, Jennifer DiBella, Clodomiro Falcon, Lindy Lee Gold, Matt Hart, Denis Horrigan, Richard McGeary, Sandy Reis, Fiona Mohring, Thomas Mongellow, Phillip Montgomery, Tracy Nixon-Moore, Melissa Otis, Marcy Reed, Jonathan Richmond, Lisa Sementilli, and Vinnie Valente

**Staff:** Martha LaCrosse, Nichole Milton, Maureen Jenks, Tom Bethin, Yvonne Westergren, Diana Smith, Dan Garewski, Ritu Barna, Jim Boucher, Mohamed Chaouki, Ben Clapp, Wendy Garcia, Ben Hensley, Alex Johnson, Alissa Johnston, Jill Larmett, Sandy Mackie, Laura Richardson, Liz Saunders, Karo Sch, Gianna Diamolo, Kate Kimmerle, Julie Watson and Angelica Heron

**Absent:** Dave Beber, Sheldon Bustow, Katie D'Agostino, Keith Grant, Andrew Komarow, Fernando Muniz, John Nimmons, Urvashi Shah, John Simoneau, Stephen Vaughan, and Susan White

**Guests:** Numerous

# Chairman McGeary called the meeting to order at 8:20am

Chairman McGeary confirmed that we have a quorum and called the meeting to order. He thanked and recognized our distinguished guests in attendance as well as the Consortium of Chief Elected Officials, Mayor Erin Stewart, Mayor Luke Bronin, Mayor Jay Moran and our Board members for their tireless work and commitment. Special thanks to outgoing Board members Sheldon Bustow, Lindy Lee Gold, Jonathan Richmond, and John Simoneau, each were presented with an award to commemorate their dedication and years of service. He thanked our funding partners for their continued financial support and their commitment to workforce development. Special thanks to President Johnson, Jim Boucher, and Sandy Mackie for their unwavering commitment to CWP and to all the staff.

Chairman McGeary called for a motion to accept the consent agenda.

### **Consent Agenda:**

- 5/31/23 Meeting Minutes
- Approve FY23-24 Recommended Revenue & Expense Budget
- Approve WIOA Youth Renewal Recommendations
- Approve FML Engagement Letter
- Approve SYELP Award Recommendations

**Outcome:** Lindy Lee Gold made a motion to approve all the items under Consent. Jonathan Richmond offered a second. All were all in favor; none opposed; the motion carried.

### **Committee Updates**

# **Governance Committee – Tom Mongellow**

#### **Nomination of FY23-24 Officers**

- Governance Chair Mongellow announced that the Governance Committee is putting forth the following slate of
  officers FY23-24. Chairman Mongellow asked if there were any nominations from the floor. There were no
  nominations from the floor.
- Richard McGeary Chairman
- Fiona Mohring Vice-Chair
- Jennifer DiBella Vice-Chair
- Stephen Vaughan Treasurer
- Phillip Montgomery Secretary



## **Board of Directors Annual Meeting**

June16, 2023 at 8:00am Holiday Inn East Hartford, CT

**Outcome:** Hearing none a motion was made by Lindy Lee Gold for the secretary to cast one vote for the slate of officers as presented. Jonathan Richmond offered a second. All were in favor; none opposed; the motion carried.

# President & CEO Report – Alex Johnson reported Accomplishments Report

President Johnson started by thanking our Board Chair Rich McGeary for his commitment, vision, support, leadership, and dedication to CWP. He gave a brief history on how CWP came to be as we celebrate our 45 year anniversary.

Chairman McGeary and President Johnson both referred to our Funders, Supporters and Sponsors during the annual meeting thanking them for their commitment and dedication.

# Presentation of Awards followed.

Honorable Vanessa Bryant – Ambassador's Award
James Spafford – Ambassador's Award
Solmarie Snatana – Job Seeker Award
Jaime Rankin – Job Seeker Award
Michael Siggia – Job Seeker Award
Diana Flores – Job Seeker Award
Shantel Miller – Job Seeker Award
Nakia Sullivan – Job Seeker Award

Martin Guay – Industry Leader Award
Barry Simon – Industry Leader Award
Steve Dean – Industry Leader Award
Carol Fitzgerald – Industry Leader Award
Jeff Auker – Industry Leader Award
Sean Joyce – Workforce Professional Award
Carol Enes – Workforce Professional Award

#### **ADJOURN**

At 10:16 a.m. Chairman McGeary thanked everyone for attending and congratulated all the award winners. He asked for a motion to adjourn. Jonathan Richmond made a motion to adjourn which was seconded by Sandy Reis. All were in favor; none opposed; the motion carried.